Presentation | Coque Luxembourg — piscine, sauna, fitness et hôtel au luxembourg

History of the Coque

Easily accessible from all parts of the country and from neighbouring countries, strategically located on the Kirchberg plateau, within a short distance of the centre of the capital, the banking and business centres, the European institutions and the international airport, the National Sports and Culture Centre of the Coque has become an essential reference both in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and in the Greater Region, and on the international scene. This success was built in stages, driven by the will of the Luxembourg authorities and by the dynamism of the Centre's team. All these elements made it possible to begin writing a formidable saga whose first lines date back to 1969.

1969-1982

Birth of the idea of setting up a National Sports Centre

Until the 1960s, Luxembourg had very few sports facilities. The authorities responsible for the national sports policy were aware of this problem and decided to develop an ambitious project to rank Luxembourg at the top of the "small countries become great sports nations". On 12 July 1969, then Minister of Physical Education and Sports, Gaston Thorn, organised a large round table. The aim was to discuss the construction of a new sports centre adapted to the most modern requirements and criteria. This centre was intended to have a national impact, but its initiators’ ambitions were farther reaching: it had to become a reference within the Greater Region and on the international scene. To achieve this, it had to provide the best infrastructure for athletes of all levels - from individual amateur sports enthusiasts to high-level athletes, schools, clubs and federations - and enable the sports elite to have access to the same opportunities as their foreign counterparts at major international events.


From the outset, an Olympic swimming pool, a multi-sports hall promoting indoor athletics and an outdoor stadium including various playgrounds were planned. The design of the complex was entrusted to French architect Roger Taillibert who unveiled a bold concept in February 1974. His architectural concept was elegant, modern and even futuristic. More detailed plans showed that the project could be built in two successive stages, with priority given to the Olympic swimming pool that opened its doors in April 1982.

Success came immediately: since its opening, the swimming pool and its ancillary infrastructures now grouped within the Aquatic Centre (sauna cabins, Turkish bath, solar beaches with individual solariums, grassed area for relaxation and tanning in the open air, changing rooms, etc.) play host to nearly 400,000 athletes each year.

1985-1996

The project of a National Sports Centre takes shape

The economic circumstances being what they were, the second phase of works, centred around a multi-sports hall, only began in 1985. Various projects were considered, and priority was finally given to a multifunctional and versatile complex to be developed on the Kirchberg plateau. This new approach was particularly ambitious: the infrastructures were to prioritise sports, but they were also required to become a leading cultural destination and a major convention centre.

The multiple positions and priorities specific to the various stakeholders interested in the project, as well as the urban planning modifications affecting the Kirchberg plateau, delayed the project despite the insistence of the Luxemburgish Olympic and Sports Committee - COSL which forcefully requested that the Centre be built as soon as possible and which repeatedly invoked the impact that it could have on the progress that the national teams and athletes would make in the field of competitive sports.

Very quickly, the Luxembourgish Olympic and Sports Committee - COSL - emphasized the need to complete construction on the National Sports and Culture Centre as quickly and as efficiently as possible. A few years after the Centre’s opening, André Hoffmann, President of the COSL, made a very positive and encouraging initial assessment of the centre, especially for top athletes: "The Coque opened up new horizons in our approach to training our athletes and also in the field of organising sports events. At any time of the day, our top athletes can freely access the facilities and the weight room. In addition, the infrastructure of the Coque also provides physiotherapeutic services provided by the physiotherapy practice attached to the centre".

1996-1997

Construction begin

It is finally in 1996 that a final project was selected: the Act of 2 May 1996 authorised the construction of a National Sports and Culture Centre in Luxembourg-Kirchberg for a sum of 2.5 billion francs (around 62,000,000 Euros). A call for tenders was launched for the construction of the Centre, and works officially began in December 1997: the ground was broken in a symbolic and hopeful ceremony held in the presence of the Minister of Public Works, Robert Goebbels, and the Minister of Sports, Georges Wohlfart.

As Minister for Sustainable Development and Infrastructure, Claude Wiseler was sensitive not only to the many vocations of the Coque, but also to its aesthetics and the architectural audacity that characterised it: "The Coque was a project that sparked much discussion. Its architecture is very special: 4 large shells, prestressed reinforced concrete and a part of the construction made from wood. This raised the question as to whether such architecture was suited to a large sports arena. Today it is obvious, when looking at the building from the outside, that we are faced with an exceptional construction that is noticeable even when passing by car. The building is also unique on the inside, with its eye-catching and unexpected shapes: warm and welcoming lines. That is why its success does not surprise me. The Coque was able to find its place in the architectural landscape of Kirchberg.".

2000

The Coque: a public establishment

In parallel with the beginning of the works, a draft law aimed at creating the public institution that would manage the Centre was being drawn up. The main concern was that of being able to combine the new infrastructure’s many intended uses (sports, culture, events, etc.) with a wide range of events, activities, camps, training sessions, competitions, and more. In addition, the new public establishment in the making also had to include an Olympic pool.

On 29 June 2000, a law created the public establishment, granted it legal personality, determined the sports complex to be operated and set out the management’s duties according to the facilities’ various intended uses: sports, culture, congresses, accommodation and hospitality.

2019

Creation of a "high performance" training centre within the Luxembourgish temple of sports

The High-Performance Training & Recovery Centre (HPTRC) project was born from the idea of promoting elite sport in Luxembourg by creating the best possible training environment in terms of infrastructure, equipment and human resources. The HPTRC is intended to be a priority service provider of the Luxembourg Institute for High Performance in Sports (LIHPS) and is therefore in line with the political will of the Ministry of Sports and the Luxemburg Olympic Committee.   

The HPTRC, as a "high performance" training centre, focuses on elite sport by providing specific, innovative and scientific equipment together with all related services, such as performance diagnostics, video analysis and recovery measures. The main objective is to advance Luxembourg's elite sport by supporting athletes from the COSL and federations.

Présentation | Coque Luxembourg — piscine, sauna, fitness et hôtel au luxembourg

Historique de la Coque

Facile d’accès depuis toutes les régions du pays et depuis les pays limitrophes, stratégiquement implanté sur le plateau du Kirchberg, à courte distance du noyau de la capitale, des centres bancaires et d’affaires, des institutions européennes et de l’aéroport international, le Centre National Sportif et Culturel d'Coque est devenu une incontournable référence tant au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg que dans la Grande Région ou sur la scène internationale. Ce succès s’est construit par étapes, animé par la volonté des autorités luxembourgeoises et par le dynamisme de l’équipe du Centre. Tous ces éléments ont permis d’écrire une formidable saga dont les premières lignes remontent à 1969.

1969-1982

Naissance de l'idée de la mise en place d'un Centre National Sportif

Jusque dans le courant des années 1960, le Luxembourg est relativement pauvre en infrastructures sportives. Conscientes du problème, les autorités responsables de la politique sportive nationale décident d’élaborer un projet ambitieux permettant de classer le Luxembourg en tête des « petits pays devenus de grandes nations sportives ». Le 12 juillet 1969, le Ministre de l’Éducation physique et des Sports de l’époque, Gaston Thorn, organise une vaste table ronde. Objectif : discuter de la réalisation d’un nouveau centre sportif adapté aux exigences et aux critères les plus modernes. Ce centre est appelé à avoir un retentissement national, mais l’ambition de ses initiateurs va plus loin : il doit devenir une référence au sein de la Grande Région et sur la scène internationale. Pour cela, il doit offrir les meilleures infrastructures aux sportifs de tous niveaux – du sportif individuel amateur à l’athlète de haut niveau, en passant par les écoles, clubs ou fédérations – et permettre à l’élite sportive d’avoir les mêmes chances que ses homologues étrangers lors des grandes rencontres internationales.
D’entrée de jeu, une piscine olympique, un hall multisports privilégiant l’athlétisme en salle et un stade de plein air incluant différentes aires de jeu sont prévues. La conception de l’ensemble est confiée à l’architecte français Roger Taillibert qui présente au mois de février 1974 une maquette audacieuse. Son concept architectural se veut tout à la fois élégant, moderne et même futuriste. Des plans plus détaillés permettent de voir que le projet peut être conçu en deux étapes successives, priorité étant donné à la piscine olympique qui ouvre ses portes en avril 1982.

Le succès est immédiat : depuis son ouverture, la piscine et ses infrastructures annexes désormais regroupées au sein du Centre Aquatique (cabines de sauna, bain turc, plages solaires avec solariums individuels, aire gazonnée de repos et de bronzage en plein air, vestiaires, ...) accueillent chaque année près de 400.000 sportifs.

1985-1996

Le projet d'un Centre National Sportif prend forme

Les circonstances économiques étant ce qu’elles sont, ce n’est qu’en 1985 qu’est envisagée la seconde tranche des travaux, centrée autour d’un hall multisports. De projets en projets, la priorité est finalement donnée à un ensemble multifonctionnel et polyvalent devant être développé sur le plateau du Kirchberg. Cette nouvelle approche se veut particulièrement ambitieuse : elle prévoit que les infrastructures donnent la priorité à la pratique sportive, mais qu’elles doivent aussi devenir une destination culturelle de premier plan et un centre de congrès d’importance.

Les multiples prises de position et les priorités spécifiques aux divers intervenants intéressés par le projet, ainsi que les réorientations urbanistiques touchant le plateau du Kirchberg, retardent la concrétisation du projet en dépit de l’insistance du Comité Olympique et Sportif Luxembourgeois – COSL qui insiste sur une réalisation rapide du Centre et qui invoque à plusieurs reprises les incidences que celui-ci peut avoir sur les progrès dans le domaine de la compétition sportive des équipes et sélections nationales.

Très vite, le Comité Olympique et Sportif Luxembourgeois – COSL a mis l’accent sur la nécessité d’aboutir à une réalisation rapide et optimale du Centre National Sportif et Culturel. Quelques années après l’ouverture du Centre, André Hoffmann, Président du COSL, tirait déjà un premier bilan extrêmement positif et encourageant, notamment pour les athlètes de haut niveau : « La Coque a ouvert la brèche dans notre façon d’aborder l’entraînement avec nos athlètes et également dans le domaine de l’organisation des manifestations sportives. À tout moment de la journée, nos athlètes cadres peuvent accéder librement aux infrastructures et à la salle de musculation. Par ailleurs, les infrastructures de la Coque permettent aussi de bénéficier d’un encadrement physiothérapeutique grâce au cabinet de kinésithérapie afférent au centre».

1996-1997

Les travaux commencent

C’est finalement en 1996 qu’un projet final est retenu : la loi du 2 mai de cette année autorise la construction d’un Centre National Sportif et Culturel à Luxembourg-Kirchberg à concurrence d’une somme de 2,5 milliards de francs (soit près de 62.000.000 d’euros). Un appel à candidatures pour la réalisation du Centre est lancé et les travaux débutent officiellement en décembre 1997 : symbolique et porteur d’espoirs, le premier coup de pelle est donné en présence du Ministre des Travaux publics, Robert Goebbels, et du Ministre des Sports, Georges Wohlfart.

En tant que Ministre du développement Durable et des Infrastructures, Claude Wiseler a été sensible non seulement aux multiples vocations de la Coque, mais également à son esthétisme et à l’audace architecturale qui la caractérise : « La Coque a été un projet qui a suscité la discussion. Son architecture est très spéciale : 4 grandes coques, du béton armé précontraint et une partie de la construction en bois. La question se posait si une telle architecture avait sa raison d’être pour une grande arène sportive. Aujourd’hui il est évident, lorsque l’on regarde le bâtiment de l’extérieur, que nous avons à faire à une construction exceptionnelle qui se remarque même en passant en voiture. À l’intérieur aussi le bâtiment est hors normes, avec ses formes inattendues qui accrochent le regard : des formes chaudes et sympathiques. C’est pourquoi son succès ne m’étonne pas. La Coque a su trouver sa place architecturale au sein du Kirchberg... ».

2000

La Coque : un établissement public

Parallèlement au commencement des travaux, il y a l’élaboration d’un projet de loi qui a pour objectif la création de l’établissement public appelé à gérer le Centre. Le souci est de pouvoir prendre en considération les vocations multiples (sportives, culturelles, événementielles, ...) attribuées à la nouvelle infrastructure destinée à pouvoir accueillir simultanément ou de manière complémentaire un large éventail d’évènements, activités, stages, entraînements, compétitions, ... En outre, le nouvel établissement public en devenir doit aussi inclure la piscine olympique.

Le 29 juin 2000, une loi crée l’établissement public, lui attribue une personnalité juridique, détermine le complexe sportif devant être exploité et fixe les missions de gestion selon les différentes vocations des installations : sportives, culturelles, congressistes, hébergement et restauration.

2019

Création d’un centre d’entraînement « haute performance » au sein du temple du sport luxembourgeois

Le projet du HPTRC (High Performance Training & Recovery Center) est né de l’idée de vouloir promouvoir le sport d’élite luxembourgeois en créant le meilleur environnement d’entraînement possible ; tant au niveau de l’infrastructure, que des équipements et des ressources humaines. Le HPTRC est destiné à être un prestataire de services prioritaires du LIHPS (Luxembourg Institute for High Performance in Sports) et s’inscrit donc dans la volonté politique du Ministère des Sports et du Comité Olympique Luxembourgeois.   

L’accent du HPTRC, en tant que centre d’entraînement « haute performance », est mis sur le sport d’élite en prévoyant des équipements issus des dernières évolutions de la science sportive ainsi que les services de diagnostic de performance, analyse vidéo et mesures de récupération. L’objectif principal étant de faire avancer le sport d’élite luxembourgeois en soutenant les athlètes des cadres du COSL et des fédérations.